EARTHSHIPS….DO THEY FLY?

“You can either fit in or stand out, not both” – Seth Godin

earthship

My son Chris originally posted about this to his Facebook page. I would love to live in a home such as this. Not only is it functional but it is also beautiful. This is the real meaning of “Form Follows Function”! The American Architect, Louis Sullivan, said it in his 1896 article,[published in Lippincott’s  Magazine (March 1896)] titled “The Tall Office Building Artistically Considered”. What he actually said was “It is the pervading law of all things organic and inorganic, of all things physical and metaphysical, of all things human and all things superhuman, of all true manifestations of the head, of the heart, of the soul, that the life is recognizable in its expression, that form ever follows function. This is the law.” Frank Lloyd Wright, who was Sullivan’s assistant, adopted and professed the same principle in a slightly different form.

To view the entire article go to the following link:

http://themindunleashed.org/2013/12/10-reasons-earthships-fing-awesome.html

.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

Leave a comment