RSS Feed

FIRST THEY CAME FOR THE………..

FIRST THEY CAME FOR THE………..

“When the Nazis came for the communists,
I remained silent;
I was not a communist.

When they locked up the social democrats,
I remained silent;
I was not a social democrat.

When they came for the trade unionists,
I did not speak out;
I was not a trade unionist.

When they came for the Jews,
I remained silent;
I wasn’t a Jew.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.” –  Martin Niemöller

There are many variations of the above quote such as the following:

First they came for the Jews
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Jew.
Then they came for the Communists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a Communist.
Then they came for the trade unionists
and I did not speak out
because I was not a trade unionist.
Then they came for me
and there was no one left
to speak out for me.

and this one which incorporates Catholics and Protestants:

In Germany they first came for the Communists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist.
Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew.
Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist.
Then they came for the Catholics,
and I didn’t speak up because I was a Protestant.
Then they came for me –
and by that time no one was left to speak up.

You can change the names of the groups to suit any purpose, it doesn’t matter because the bottom line remains the same – “When good people sit by and say nothing, bad things can happen.”

When I began blogging, it was with the intent of talking about real estate interspersed with general information and other interesting facts.  I never thought I would become political. But I can not sit by and ignore what this administration is doing to religious freedom.  For all my readers who are not Catholic, just substitute the group names to whatever you like.

First they came for the Catholics………………………..then other Christians……….  …………then Jews……………….then Buddists……….then they came for me, and there was no one left to speak up!

Perhaps as a nation, we can join the Catholics in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia in their day of prayer and fast.  See an excerpt of the news article “Catholic Bishops Urge Day of Fasting to Protest Insurance Mandate” written by David O”Reilly, below.

By David O’Reilly

“Calling the Obama administration’s mandated insurance coverage for contraceptives an “assault” on religious freedom, Pennsylvania’s 10 Catholic bishops have urged Catholics statewide to make Friday, March 30, a day of prayer and fasting.

“On that day, offer your sacrifice for the cause of religious liberty, that the Church may be granted the basic right to practice what she preaches, and for our political leaders, that their eyes may be opened to the rights of all Americans,” the bishops said in a letter issued last week and read Sunday at some parishes in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia.

The bishops assert that the federal mandate requiring health insurance companies to cover contraceptives “punishes the Church for its firmly held beliefs.”

Catholic leaders have denounced the regulation because the church holds that artificial contraception and sterilization are morally wrong………………..”

Read the rest of the article at: http://www.philly.com/philly/news/religion/20120313_Catholic_bishops_urge_day_of_fasting_to_protest_insurance_mandate.html

If you don’t think that a day of prayer and fasting will make a difference let me tell you about a battle that took place almost five hundred years ago.  It is called the Battle of Lepanto.

The Battle of Lepanto took place on October 7, 1571 when a fleet of the Holy League defeated the main fleet of the Ottoman Empire in five hours of fighting on the northern edge of the Gulf of Patras, off western Greece.

The Battle of Lepanto, H. Letter, National Maritime Museum, Greenwich/London.

All military factors, and the wind in particular favored the Muslims, but Don John, the commander-in-chief of the Holy League was confident. He boarded a fast ship to review his fleet and while doing so shouted words of encouragement to his men. When Don John returned to his own position, the wind mysteriously changed to the advantage of the Christian fleet.

Meanwhile, at that very moment, at dawn on October 7, 1571, Pope Pius V, accompanied by many faithful, was praying the Rosary in the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore.  From dawn to dusk the prayers continued in Rome as the Christians and the Muslims battled at Lepanto.  When it was all over the Muslims had been defeated. Of some 270 Moslem ships, at least 200 were destroyed.  The Turks also lost 30,000 men while Christian casualties numbered between 4,000 and 5,000.

This decisive victory prevented Turkey’s expansion into the Mediterranean, maintaining western dominance and providing a growing confidence in the west, that the Turks, previously unstoppable, could be beaten. This victory also protected Italy, Rome and the Vatican from an Ottoman invasion.

The Holy League credited the victory to the Virgin Mary, whose intercession with God they had implored for victory through the use of the Holy Rosary.

Prayer, and in particular the Holy Rosary had won a great military victory. Pope Pius V instituted a new Catholic feast day of Our Lady of Victory to commemorate the battle, which is now celebrated by the Catholic Church as the feast of Our Lady of the Rosary.

Don John retired after his victory at Lepanto and died a few years later at the age of 31. Miguel de Cervantes, who also took part in the battle of Lepanto, lived longer than Don John and became a writer.  He is the famous author of Don Quixote, which is a tribute to Christian chivalry.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: It Ain’t Over Till the Fat Lady . . . | Grumpy Opinions

  2. We just can’t ignore other people’s plights in this world: we are in it together, now more than ever, and we must watch out for one another.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

