RSS Feed

YOUR GOALS MUST BE FLEXIBLE, CHALLENGING AND EXCITING!

YOUR GOALS MUST BE FLEXIBLE, CHALLENGING AND EXCITING!

“A man who wants to lead the orchestra must turn his back on the crowd.” – Max Lucado

Getting back to my post of Jan 11th 2012 the fourth and fifth key elements, of ten, to achieving your goals are:

Your goals must be flexible and your goals must be challenging and exciting.  These two elements to achieving your goals tend to go hand in hand.  If your goals are not challenging enough you may settle into a life of boredom.  When you set goals that are challenging and exciting you acquire an edge that keeps you focused and prevents you from settling on the mundane.  You also need to step out of your comfort zone if you really want to accomplish this. It will be scary to be out of your comfort zone – I know because I just did it – but this is where the greatest breakthroughs occur – when the challenges are great and your back is up against the wall.

The other element that goes along with this one is that your goals must be flexible. The last thing you want to do is design a system of achieving your goals that is so rigid it suffocates you.  The second reason you want your goals to be flexible is that if a genuine, once in a lifetime, opportunity comes along, you want to be able to change course to pursue that opportunity.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

2 responses »

  1. When I was offered the opportunity to teach, I was terribly scared, as it was something I’d never contemplated doing, but 10 years on I can see it’s the best thing I’ve ever done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

