RSS Feed

MY GUARDIAN ANGEL SHOULD GET OVERTIME PAY

MY GUARDIAN ANGEL SHOULD GET OVERTIME PAY

“Every gift from a friend is a wish for your happiness.” –  Richard Bach

Three days ago, when I was talking with a friend – Mary Jayne, I was telling her I was trying to figure out how to get my presentation onto the “Nook” my daughter gave me for Christmas.  I also mentioned that I hoped my customer had WiFi so I could show him some of my websites.  She offered to loan me her laptop with her 4G card.  She said it was great because she could get on the internet anywhere, even at the beach.  The 4G card was like a cell phone she said.  I thought about it for a moment and then told her the last time I borrowed a laptop, I was burglarized and that was the last thing I wanted to happen again.  She insisted, so I borrowed it and boy was I glad I did.

Two days ago I left for the small town of Bronson about 35 miles from my home. That is where the prospective customer was that I was going to talk with and give my presentation to.  It was raining and cold and I considered taking my poodle with me for company and then opted against it.  I’m glad I did!  Thirty miles down the road, I suddenly had no power steering, and when I looked down at my dashboard, I noticed the battery light had come on.  I quickly called my husband because I knew I would lose cell phone service – my carrier has limited towers in that area. My husband immediately told me to turn around and stop because my serpentine belt probably broke and I would be overheating shortly.  When I looked at the temperature gauge, the temperature was indeed climbing.  Making a U-turn was no easy task without power steering, but I did and pulled over, turned the car off and put my flashers on.  I then tried calling for assistance and could not because my phone had no signal.

As I was sitting in my car wondering what I was going to do stuck out here in the middle of nowhere without cell phone coverage, I remembered the conversation I had with Mary Jayne.  I thought what did I have to lose, it is supposed to work anywhere. So out came the laptop and the 4G card.  I logged on to the internet and to my surprise I was connected.  Great I thought, at least now I can email people for help.

I emailed my office, a co-worker, two girlfriends, my husband, and the repair shop I usually take my car to, and explained that I was broke down, where, and had no phone coverage and if they get this message please email me back.  I kept waiting and waiting for an email and nothing.  Every now and then I would check my cell phone to see if there were any bars and at one point I had a half a bar.  I immediately tried calling my repair shop.  They answered but they could only hear every other word I was saying, so I repeated, “check email, check email, check email…. I guess they heard the word “email” and checked their email.  About 1 hour later, a tow truck pulls up.  Being the New Yorker that I am, I went to the door of the tow truck and asked why he was here and who sent him.  When he gave me the correct answer, I almost cried I was so happy.   I sat in my car, with the hazard lights on for over two hours.  About 50 cars and trucks passed by and not one car or truck stopped to see what the matter was. I thought for sure I would be stuck along the side of the road all day.

As a Realtor, part of my job is to constantly check my email.  That is how I stay in touch with lenders, buyers, sellers, and repair people.  I forgot that not everyone is on the net as much as I am. My friends and husband had not looked at their email, because they were busy doing other things, although my husband did try calling me about 6 times.

So what are the lessons to be learned in all of this?  There definitely is more than one here.  The first is that God and my guardian angel were watching over me that day.  I never asked to borrow my friends laptop, Mary Jayne offered out of thin air and the goodness of her heart – that was surely God working through her to protect me. Plus, why did my cell phone work long enough to call my husband and find out why I had no power steering, then it didn’t work after that?  Could it be my guardian angel had his/her hand in getting that call through?  The second is, perhaps if someone did stop to help me their intentions would not have been honorable – I might have been in worse trouble. The third lesson is that perhaps I need to change my cell phone carrier. My carrier, although they have the very best customer service,  do not have enough towers and after getting stuck like I did two days ago, I don’t ever want to be in that situation again.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

Leave a Reply

