RSS Feed

YOUR GOALS MUST BE YOUR OWN

YOUR GOALS MUST BE YOUR OWN

“The number one problem that keeps people from winning in the United States today is lack of belief in themselves.”  –  Arthur L. Williams

Little by little I will expand on each key element from my post from January 11th titled “Are You Still On Track”?

How about starting with the first key element in achieving your goals – Your goals must be your own (not what someone else wants of you). This seems like a no brainer, but when you dig a little deeper, we are all affected to one degree or another by what someone else wants of us. I’ll begin my example with a child.  As we grow, our parents are there to guide us, but sometimes what we like, doesn’t always match what our parents like.  If it is simply a matter of taste-there is no harm no foul. i.e. When I was in 6th grade I had a little transistor radio.  For those of you who are too young to know what that is – it was the first hand-held portable radio run by a nine volt battery. I remember one time listening to that radio and commenting how much I liked the way Elvis Presley sang.  My mother evidently didn’t feel the same way and tried to convince me that I really didn’t want to listen to him. Of course I didn’t listen to her and continued until today to think Elvis was one of the best pop singers ever.

Another example might be a high school student who excels in a particular subject over all the others.  The parents may try to sway that child’s decision as to what they would like to study in college.  After 4 years of college, that child may realize, they prefer something else. Worse yet is the child who becomes a professional i.e. an accountant, physician, architect, because grandpa was one and dad was one, so it is expected that JR follow in their footsteps.  This could yield some disastrous results, results such as large student loans for a job you will never be good at, or unhappiness at a job you really don’t want.

Then there are the advertisements, constantly showing women and men with perfect bodies, hair, teeth and clothes.  This is what today’s youth try to emulate to the point of making themselves sick trying to look as skinny as this one or that one.

Oh, let’s not forget the cosmetic industry or the auto industry that try to set the standards of how young we should look and what car we should drive. It’s no wonder there are so many unhappy people in this world.  They are all trying to live up to someone else’s standards.

If your goals are not your own, you will never achieve them, it’s as simple as that!

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

2 responses »

  1. So true! Loved it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

