RSS Feed

HOLIDAY TRAVEL TIPS

HOLIDAY TRAVEL TIPS

“Lost time is never found again.”  –  Benjamin Franklin

Make your holiday traveling easier with these travel tips from Discover.

The holiday season is a  popular travel time, so you might need to do a little more planning and take a few extra precautions to get where you’re going safely and as comfortably as possible.  Here are some useful tips for holiday air travel.

  • Book airlines and hotels early.  Some may even give you a discount for early booking.  Also, consider a package deal because peak travel periods can be the best time to buy one.
  • Give yourself time at the airport.  Arrive at the airport at least two hours early for domestic flights and three hours for international flights.  It could mean the difference between catching or missing a flight.
  • Travel early or late in the day.  As a rule, airports are least congested – and delays are far less likely – in the morning and once the afternoon and evening peak is over.  But keep in mind staffing can be spotty for very early flights.  Also, check-in and shuttle-bus rides may take a while longer.
  • Pack you carry-on wisely.  Include essentials such as medications in your carry-on luggage, in case your other luggage gets separated from you.  Remember, all liquids, gels and aerosols must be in containers no larger than 3.4 ounces (100ml).
  • Keep copies of your travel information in a safe place.  During the holidays, it may be more difficult to get replacements if they are lost.
  • Don’t wrap presents.  Presents that are pre-wrapped might need to be inspected and unwrapped by security personnel.  Think about doing you Christmas shopping online and having your gifts shipped to your destination.
  • Check your departure time.  Call the airline for flight status before leaving for the airport and use the Web for more than just booking.  The latest self-service option in online travel can be tremendous times-avers during peak travel times.  Whenever possible, print your boarding passes at home or use check-in kiosks.

Don’t let travel-related mishaps interfere with your holiday celebration.  Plan ahead – and enjoy!

Some resources to keep you safe:

Sources:
 
About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

6 responses »

  1. This is a remarkable portion of information you published there, I really think we can count on a lot more in the future.

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by my blog. I love your information on Krakow. I have a lot of Polish friends that immigrated here from Poland and of course the Blessed Pope John Paul – Karol Wojtyla – was from there as well.Good luck with your blog.
      MmeJocelyne

      Reply
  2. I think I will change to this blogengine system as it is a lot nicer than mine.

    Reply
  3. Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

