RSS Feed

TIPS FOR STAYING SAFE THIS WINTER

“We must all suffer from one of two pains: the pain of discipline or the pain of    regret. The difference is discipline weighs ounces while regret weighs tons.”                         – Jim Rohn

Residential fires take their toll every day, every year, in lost lives and destroyed property. The fact is that many conditions that cause house fires can be avoided or prevented by homeowners. Taking the time for some simple precautions, preventive inspections, and concrete planning can help prevent fire in the home — and can even save your life should disaster strike.

  • All electrical devices including lamps, appliances, and electronics should be checked for frayed cords, loose or broken plugs, and exposed wiring. Never run electrical wires under carpet or rugs as this creates a fire hazard.
  • Wood-burning fireplaces should be cleaned by a professional chimney sweep each year to prevent a dangerous buildup of creosote, which can cause a flash fire in the chimney. Cracks in masonry chimneys should be repaired, and spark arresters inspected to ensure they are in good condition and free of debris.
  • When using space heaters, keep them away from beds and bedding, curtains, papers — anything flammable. Always follow the manufacturer’s instructions for use. Space heaters should not be left unattended or where a child or pet could knock them over.
  • Use smoke detectors with fresh batteries unless they are hard-wired to your home’s electrical system. Smoke detectors should be installed high on walls or on ceilings on every level of the home and inside each bedroom. Statistics show that nearly 60% of home fire fatalities occur in homes without working smoke alarms. Many municipalities now require the use of working smoke detectors in both single and multi-family residences.
  • Children should not have access to or be allowed to play with matches, lighters, or candles. Flammable materials such as gasoline or kerosene should be stored outside the house.
  • Kitchen fires know no season. Grease spills, items left unattended on the stove or in the oven, and food left in toasters or toaster ovens can catch fire quickly. Don’t wear loose-fitting clothing, especially with long sleeves, around the stove. Handles of pots and pans should be turned away from the front of the stove to prevent accidental contact. Keep an all-purpose fire extinguisher within easy reach.
  • Have an escape plan. This is one of the most important measures you can take to prevent death in a fire. Your local fire department can provide detailed recommendations on escape planning and preparedness. In addition, all family members should know how to dial 911 in case of a fire or other emergency.
  • Live Christmas trees should be kept in a water-filled stand and checked daily for dehydration. Needles should not easily break off a freshly cut tree. Brown needles or lots of fallen needles indicate a dangerously dried-out tree, which should be discarded immediately. Always use non flammable decorations in the home, and never use lights on a dried-out tree.
  • Candles should be placed in stable holders and placed away from curtains, drafts, pets, and children. Never leave candles unattended, even for a short time.
  • Christmas or other holiday lights should be checked for fraying or broken wires and plugs. Follow the manufacturer’s guidelines when joining two or more strands together, as a fire hazard could result from overload. Enjoy your indoor holiday lighting only while someone is home, and turn them off before going to bed at night.

Your local Pillar To Post office wishes you and your clients a happy and safe holiday season.

A big thank you to Karl for sending this article my way.

Karl Spitzer
karl.spitzer@pillartopost.com
www.pillartopost.com
About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

14 responses »

  1. Merilee Lapar

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Cheers!

    Reply
    • Hello Merilee, thanks for stopping by my blog. I would be pleased if you to linked back to my site so your readers can have more information. That is what the internet is about – information!
      Sincerely,
      Mme Jocelyne

      Reply
  2. Crissy Stoneking

    This design is wicked! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

    Reply
  3. My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on a number of websites for about a year and am worried about switching to another platform. I have heard excellent things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by and I’m sure there must be a way to import you posts, but I’m not sure. I believe wordpress has a help menu where you can get information and contact someone at wordpress with your specific questions. I hope you have a Prosperous and Happy New Year!

      Reply
  4. Hi, I have a passion for surfing the internet !. Astounding isn’t it that 15 years ago it hardly existed. Now even Bill Clintons cat has a blog !. My apologies in case you think I am being cheeky posting this here BUT I’m 15 years old and have to do a project at school (for my GCSE exams). It would really, really help if people posted on here how many hours a week they consider they spend on the Web. I think I’m up to 30 hours !. Really appreciate anyone taking the time to reply. Thanks. Bookmarked, I will return every single week.

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by my blog. To answer your question might be a bit unfair since for my career I spend a good part of the day on the internet and part of my evenings blogging. If you want a number, I would have to say probably 50 hours on the computer between searching for homes, posting homes, blogging and everything else that requires internet access.
      Good luck with your project.

      Reply
  5. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say great blog!

    Reply
  6. global life insurance

    Hey, I genuinely really like your website here, it is a pleasure to read it and I will definitely return shortly. My passion would be to talk about life insurance. Many thanks!

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by and why not send me an article on the reasons why a person would need ins vs not. I will be more than happy to post it for you so long as it is not a commercial or advertisement.

      Reply
  7. Ethelene Brevig

    I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very joyful that I stumbled throughout this in my search for one thing regarding this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

