RSS Feed

JUST CALL ME JOB!

“Human beings must be known to be loved; but Divine beings must be loved to be known.” – Blaise Pascal

On my last post, I wanted to rant about how I’m beginning to feel like Job of the Old Testament. Instead I went on about Fifi, I guess I needed to.

Back to my original topic:  Job was a good and righteous man, pleasing to God. One day Satan told God the only reason Job was so good was because God protected him. The devil asked God to remove his protection from Job and let me have at him.  “Then you’ll see he will curse and blaspheme you like all the others”, said the devil to God.  So God said “go ahead, do what you wish, just don’t hurt Job”.  At that point the devil took away all of Job’s livestock – which was as numerous as the stars, as well as the people who tended his livestock, and his ten (10) children and the home they were feasting in.  Finding this out,  Job tore his cloths, cut his hair and responded while prostrate on the ground: “Naked I came forth from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I go back again.  The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.” (Job 1:21-22)

Well, I certainly haven’t lost as much as Job, but to have so many losses in one month, not to mention the loss from earlier this year is quite enough.  I am looking forward to 2012 and hoping it is a much better year.

I have read that if there is hope to save a sinner, God will send him chastisements: “For whom the Lord loveth, he chastiseth; and he scourgeth every son whom he receiveth.” (Hebrews 12:6) “O how good and sweet is thy spirit, O lord, in all things! And therefore thou chastisest them that err, by little and little: and admonishest them, and speakest to them, concerning the things wherein they offend: that leaving their wickedness, they may believe in thee, O Lord.” (Wisdom 12:1-2).

I have recently read in the book “Dogma of Hell” that many saints say that if a mortal sinner is prospering and doing well and living relatively free of troubles, he has been abandoned by God and that God is allowing him some pleasures while in this life, because that person is going to spend eternity in Hell.

I will take this as my chastisement and try to mend my ways. I just feel bad for my animals, especially Louie, who will be an only dog and so lonely for Fifi when she passes.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

Leave a Reply

