RSS Feed

GOODBYE LIL’ ORCHID!

GOODBYE LIL’ ORCHID!

Well sometime last night after midnight, October 9-10, 2011, during the terrible storm that went through Alachua,  Lil’ Orchid went to her final resting place.  I wonder if her long time pal, Miss Lily came to get her, as they say dead family members do when a human dies. I would also like to think that there is a special little place in heaven – a doggie park, for our beloved pets to run in the grass and play for eternity.

We have fond memories of Miss Lily and Lil’ Orchid.  They both came to us at the same time, from the same family, and have brought us such joy in their short, little lives.

It seems it was just last year, (maybe two) that our church updated their parish directory and all parishioners were asked to have their pictures updated at no charge. We were told that if we wanted to have pictures taken with our pets, dogs or cats, we could.  I immediately wanted to bring all 4 poodles with us to have a picture taken. Rob only wanted to bring the larger dogs, saying the little ones would only be trouble in an unfamiliar place, but I insisted and he gave in. Well let me tell you, all 4 dogs were so well-behaved — we couldn’t have been prouder.  We got our picture taken with all of them and purchased a package to give as gifts, and of course, kept one for ourselves. Rob has done nothing but talk about that picture and how happy he is to have a picture with all the dogs, but especially with Miss Lily and Lil’ Orchid, now that they are gone.

Fifi and Louie are now the only poodles we have and they are larger than Miss Lily and Lil’ Orchid, who were 7 lbs soaking wet.  We will enjoy the two we have left, for who knows how long their little lives will last.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

Leave a Reply

