RSS Feed

CAN IT GET ANY WORSE?

CAN IT GET ANY WORSE?

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.”   Confucius

I have heard it said that good and bad things come in threes.  Well it seems I’ve been hit with 3+ challenges this week alone.  The week stated with the transmission on my car dying and the after-market insurance I purchased, trying to weasel out of paying for the repair by requesting 2 years of maintenance records.  To make matters worse, the dealership I have been taking my car to the last 9 years updated their computer system and lost all records prior to April of 2011 – just my luck.  If that wasn’t enough for one person to handle one of our dogs, Orchid, who is about 15 years old,  is on her way out.  I know nothing lasts forever, but it is difficult to lose a pet – even an older pet. Pets have their own little personalities and after living with them for years they truly become a part of the family.  It’s difficult to see them get old and needy.  Our other two dogs have issues as well, but at this time we are dealing with them as best we can.  Lastly, (at least I hope it the last) on Friday our horse Max wouldn’t eat – seems he has a bad tooth.  Everything just seems to be piling up and of course at the worst possible time of year – property taxes are due and Christmas is coming.  My next post, hopefully, will be more upbeat.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

Leave a Reply

