RSS Feed

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

“You have to believe in yourself when no one else does.  That’s what makes you  a winner.”  – Venus Williams – (Olympic gold medalist and professional tennis champion)

Thank you all so very much for the wonderful comments.  This past week,  I’ve been very stressed (I felt like the picture to the left) and down in the dumps and haven’t blogged.  When I got on the site this evening I was blown away – 29 positive comments .  This has lifted my spirits tremendously.  Thank you, thank you so much! I’ve had a lot on my mind I needed to sort out.  I haven’t completely sorted through all of it yet, but I’m getting clearer on what needs to be done.

Last week started off with me dropping my blackberry in a sink of water – need I say more?  Even though I snatched the phone out of the water with lightning speed, it was too late – it was wet.  So, I took the battery out, dried it off and tried it – nothing!  I took the battery out again and set it by the AC vent to dry some more.  When my husband came home, he tried using canned air and put the battery back in – guess what – still nothing.  Reluctantly I got out my old Samsung T-509 and charged it up.  It is so hard to go from a smart phone back to a regular cell phone once you’re used to a smart phone.

The following day I stopped in to see one of my sellers and I told her not to text me for a while.  The Samsung doesn’t have a qwerty keyboard and that makes it very difficult to text.  I told her what happened and she suggested I put my phone in a container of rice to dry it out.  She said one of her friends had also dropped her phone in water, and dried her phone in rice and it worked.  I figured why not try it.  When I got home I put the phone in a container of rice, covered it and left it for three days (3 days was my choice).  When I took the phone out and put the battery back in, the phone booted up like it should, but all I got after it booted up was an error message – “error 454”.  I tried looking up the error code on the internet but to no avail.  Finally I remembered I had the blackberry disk, and that sometimes I get queried “Do you want to update now?”  So I figured what have I got to lose.  I opened up the blackberry program, connected my blackberry to the computer and suddenly the program asked me if I wanted to download the latest update.  So I said yes, and 20 minutes later I had my blackberry back up and running. Not only was it working again, but I now had the latest version on my phone and it is quite different from the one I was running. I did lose some of my contacts, but was able to replace them, since I have all my contacts in Gmail. That was the highlight of my week! I was dreading the thought of having to go out and buy a new phone.

On another note, I bought a 10 pound bag of Vidalia onions from the youth group at our church two weeks ago – they were raising money for a trip. I don’t know if you can visualize how many onions 10 pounds is, but it’s a lot.  So far I have made two batches of French onion soup – 2-1/2 to 3 lbs of onions per batch, I’ve used some on pizza – home-made of course, and some on burgers, and I still have enough for another batch of onion soup. I also canned 4 jars of strawberry preserves, and will be making another 4 jars this weekend – time allowing.

Now for the biggest time consumer this week.  On Monday we had a terrible thunder-storm with lots of wind.  It was so windy it toppled the 100-year-old hickory tree in the front of our home.  Luckily for us the tree fell away from the house, otherwise it would have taken the side of our home down. Sadly though the tree fell across one of my gardenia bushes, as well as on top of many of my bromeliads.  I had bromeliads planted all around the tree.  I’ve managed to transplant a dozen of the best looking bromeliads I could dig out, I have 6-8  waiting for a new home and there are still more I will try to unearth tomorrow. This heat wave we are having is slowing me down.  It’s rough digging in 98-100 degree weather when one isn’t used to that type of manual labor or  heat.

Little by little, I’ve managed to cut off the small branches that I could reach – piling them here and there to dry out.  This weekend, instead of relaxing for Father’s day with my husband, we will be outside sawing up as much wood as we can and stacking it under the back porch to season for this coming winter.  There is one good thing that has come out of this  – we will have plenty of firewood for our wood stove this winter, saving us quite a bit of money in heating. Even though this is Florida, it’s the northern part of Florida and it can get pretty darn cold in the winter.

Below are some pictures of the fallen hickory tree and the utter mess it left across the front yard. Ok, some of the mess is from me trimming the branches I could reach. But I wouldn’t have made the mess if the tree hadn’t fallen!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

Leave a Reply

