RSS Feed

WHAT TO DO?

Posted on
WHAT TO DO?

This weekend, since it is a three-day weekend, I thought I would do a bunch of BPO’s for an investor.  But, my time seems not to be mine to plan.   The investors didn’t get back to me – they must be off somewhere for the 3 day weekend, so, I decided to get domestic.  My domestic penchant began on Friday evening when I got home at 5:00 instead of the usual 6:00 – 6:30 and my husband said “What are you doing home so early? I wasn’t expecting you this  early!”  My answer to him was “Is there some reason for the questions?  Do I need to be worried?”  Evidently not – he was grooving to some tunes in the recliner.   When Rob, my husband asked  “Did you bring home pizza?”  being in the domestic mood I was in, I told him no, but I have fixings to make our own pizza.  He helped me unpack then asked “Where’s the crust?”  I pointed to the bag of bread flour I had just unpacked, and he let out a big sigh.  “What”, I said, “I think it will be fun, making a pizza together, besides according to these directions, it should only take 30 minutes.” Well this was my first time doing anything with bread flour and yeast, but I didn’t let on.  I put all the ingredients together as if it were something I did weekly.  When the crust was done, Rob put the sauce, cheese and toppings on and put it in the oven.  Well, let me tell you, I had no idea what to expect, – but it was good! (I wish I would have thought of taking a picture of it.)

Continuing in my domestic mood today, I started with the task of the monthly hair cut for my husband.  You see, I don’t just groom the dogs, I also cut my husband’s hair.  Once that was done I set myself to the task of baking a loaf of bread from scratch.  I mixed the flour, yeast, etc. together, then kneaded it, let it rise, punched it down, shaped it and let it rise a second time.  When it had doubled in size, I placed it in the oven to cook.

While the bread was cooking, I began slicing onions for French Onion soup.  (The youth group at our church sold 10 pound bags of Vidalia onions as a fund-raiser, and we bought one.  Ten pounds are a lot of onions!)  Well, the soup is still cooking – it won’t be finished cooking until 7:30 this evening but I did put a little in a bowl to taste and it is yummy.

The bread came out good too for my very first attempt at bread making. Below, is a picture the bread, fresh out of the oven, and a picture of the bread cooling on the rack.  The bread is crusty on the outside and chewy on the inside – just perfect to put in the French onion soup.  Oh, and there are two pictures of Rob after his had been cut – one from the back and one from the front – of him protesting the pictures.

I’m not sure I can keep all this domestic stuff going all weekend long.  It’s harder than going to work!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

One response »

  1. Rosemarie Brown

    The bread looks really great! AND———Of course my #1 son looks even greater!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

