RSS Feed

THE NEIGHBORHOOD WAS SAVED!

Posted on

There are  some real winners when it come to buyers.  I pity the next person that has to deal with Mr. & Mrs. Buyer X.  I’m glad they are out of this deal.   I just don’t understand the mentality of some people.  They expect to buy a fair market home at “LESS THAN REO” prices. Sure, the home needs to be updated –  but it is clean and functioning, and you could move in tomorrow and live quite comfortably for years while you take your time updating.  It’s a sturdy block home, with a roof that was replaced within the last few years and an A/C unit that was rebuilt at the same time the roof was replaced.  I had the carpets shampood and stretched for my sellers when the home went on the market. Granted, when you enter the home, it looks like you’ve stepped back in time 35-40 years but once again, it’s clean and functional and could be lived in for years prior to remodeling.

I would have understood if the buyers came and said “we don’t have the money to buy this home, so why don’t you just give it to us”, because that  is basically what they said with their 1st offer.  But it doesn’t stop there.  The buyers called me, the seller’s agent, and ranted, raved and questioned the motives of their agent to me, prior to presenting their offer.  I had never met the agent prior to this  deal, but I couldn’t imagine any agent staying in business the way they described their agent.  When I did meet the agent, I found he was a caring agent, looking out for the best interests of his clients,  and at the same time trying to educate them on what is the proper way to go about buying a home – only they were too ignorant to see it.

The best was, when the inspector couldn’t figure out why the water wasn’t flowing when it was on at the meter – Mrs. Buyer had a hissy fit,  saying she called the day before and informed the agents of this inspection, this should have been taken care of prior to the inspection. I’m sorry, that’s just not how it’s done.

I made a phone call to the seller and found out there was a shut off valve at the house that needed to be turned on for the water to flow. Not a big deal,  problem solved.

Well, that’s all the ranting and raving I have time for today  – got to go.  I promised myself I would start updating my blog at night and get back to exercising in the morning.  Time’s a wasting and I have a 10:30 meeting in town.

Now, I feel much better.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

Leave a Reply

