RSS Feed

GOODBYE MISS LILY!

GOODBYE MISS LILY!

Yesterday, April 27, 2011,  at about 5:15 in the afternoon,  Miss Lily passed away.  It was a sad evening in our home. Our biggest consolation was that for the 10 or so years Miss Lily was with us, she had a good life and that she died peacefully.  I had been with her on and off throughout the day, carrying her around in her little bed so she could be with me where ever I went in our home.  I consoled her throughout the day, talked to her and petted her. It seemed to satisfy and ease her but it’s seemed as if she was waiting to say goodby to daddy – my husband Robert. When he came home from work, he cleaned up and went to the computer. As he sat down, Lily gave the three little barks she usually gave when we arrived home. This prompted Robert to go and talk to Lily.  When he saw her, he picked her up and cradled her in his big arms.  He saw the eye dropper and water I had used throughout the day and he thought, “how convenient” and gave Lily some water. He said she looked at him, drank the water and seemed to smile. After talking to her for a while, he put her down in Fifi’s large bed so she could rest a while. Five minutes later he came back to check on her and she was gone.   I was not home at the time,  because I was at a customer’s home talking about an offer that came in on their home.  When I came home, Robert was walking towards the edge of the pines with a shovel.  At that point, I just knew what happened.  I went in the home, got Miss Lily’s collar and Miss Lily, put her collar on and took her out to Robert. I verified for Robert that she had indeed passed away and that the hole he had dug was plenty big for this little 7 lb dog. We laid her in her final resting place and came back in the house to give the other three dogs a big hug.

Now I’ve heard that when a dog dies, if that dog has been buddy buddy with another dog all its’ life, the surviving dog dies shortly afterwards. Well, Miss Lily and Orchid have been together since they were little puppies and Miss Lily was just about 18 years old (people years) when she passed. We had always thought Orchid would be the first to go, since she has gone blind and deaf in the past year. But that’s not how it happened.  I just wonder now if Orchid can sense that Lily is no longer there,  and how long before she too passes on.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

Leave a Reply

