RSS Feed

TAXES, I HATE TAXES!!!

Here it is, down to the wire and I am just about done with the awful job of preparing my taxes for my accountant.  Having your own business means lots of extra work, especially record keeping.  I must say, I’ve come a long way in the last 5 years, but I still have a way to go.

I have finally mastered the day planner – one suited to my  needs and my method of tracking my time, money and habits. I designed my planner myself – since there is nothing out there that incorporates everything I want. It’s a quarterly planner meant to keep track of everything except my mileage.   The mileage book/sheets need to be  separate  from the planner so it can stay in the car, visible to my eyes every time I get in the car.  Now I just need to write the mileage daily and keep up with it as the year progresses.  I  think that’s the hardest thing to do – keep up with my mileage!

My  goal is to keep up with the mileage and the planner and enter the information quarterly into the master spread sheet where I keep track of all my business expenses.  The key words here are “enter quarterly”.  If I can do this, maybe next year I’ll be able to bring my paperwork to my account in January instead of April! I’m off to a good start, –  I’ve already entered the information for the first quarter of 2011.

About Mme Jocelyne

Hi, I'm a transplanted northerner–(born and raised in New York to French immigrants–Oui je parle Francais)-living in Florida for 20 years. In the 70's I worked as a realtor in the Bronx – City Island to be exact. Then I started a family and didn't keep up my license. I aspired to a career in architecture, so I went to New York Institute of Technology for three years, moved to Florida and finished my degree at the University of Florida in Gainesville. After 10 years of working in my dream career I sustained an injury to my shoulder. This injury never healed because I was constantly on the computer doing cad design. I finally decided to make a career change – something where I could use my training as an architect. Needless to say, I was worried – where will the money come from? How will I be able to afford my career change? But, I put my faith in God and went for it. It’s the best move I ever made, other than my husband, children and dogs.

Leave a Reply

